top of page

Review: of Models Prefer Contour Palette


Hello my Lovelies, Now if you have seen my last post of my priceline haul, you would have known the great lengths I went to, to get my hands on this palette. And can I say, I'm so glad that I have.

So this is bascially a drugstore version of the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Palette, and this retails for $16.95 at Priceline. Which I think is fairly inexpensive!

Okay so this palette comes with three highlight shades and three contour shades and it comes with an added bonus of a decent sized mirror. So the claims of this product is that this palette will work for all complexions and skin tones. Basically claiming to be a universal palette. However I would have to disagree on this.

My take on this product, is that I like how small and compact it is, so it is great for travelling or keeping in your makeup collection. Also the packaging is quite sleek and in my opinion doesn't feel that cheap, it has a glossy black finish. I also like how this product encorporates an instruction booklet and pictures at the back of the product of how to contour and highlight the certain areas of your faces depending on your face shape. As well as what shades in the palette to use depending on your skin tone. As well as explaining the effect of highlighting and contouring certain areas of the face. Great for beginners.

Now on the actual powders. I found from swatching these, that they do have a nice creamy consistency. I wouldn't say that they tend to look too powdery or chalky on the face.

The highlighting shades I feel are quite decent. The yellow shade, 02 wasn't that brightening in my opinion, which was a little disappointing. The shade 01 is a matte skin tone colour with pink undertones which I feel gives more of a natural look. And the shade 03 has shimmers in it with also pink undertones. However i find this to be a little dark to use as a highlight for my skin tone at least, which is light to medium.

The Contour shades I find is reasonably pigmented. Although I have read other reviews of people saying that the shades were not pigmented. This is probably because I only like a little bit of definition in the cheeks and not a full out contour. So if you are someone that does, this is something to be mindful.! So the shades I found and differeing tones. Contour shade 04 has a very rich tone, Models Prefer claims it to be a red tone. However I like it because it can easily mimick natural shades in the face. The middle shade 05 has a very grey undertone. This is probably my favourite for contouring as it creates a natural definition in the cheeks. Although I wouldn't use this shade for shading the forehead or anything like that. The last shade, 06 has a very orange undertone. This is far to orange for my skin tone at the moment, but hopefully I will be much bronxier this coming summer and will be able to use this shade for bronzer. Ugh goals!

All in all I feel that this palette is great for beginners with its instrutional pamphlet, and is reasonably priced for all the shades that you do get. And the powder themselves are of a good quality, my only criticisms is that the shades may not suit everyones skin tone, but hopefully as this product gets more popular, which I believe it will, they will come out with some new shades!

Ciao my Belles xx

Archive
bottom of page